University of New Mexico

Students walk across the University of New Mexico's main campus in Albuquerque.

ALBUQUERQUE (BNM) – Thirty-two New Mexico university and seminary students received scholarships administered by the Baptist Convention of New Mexico or the New Mexico Baptist Foundation. The two groups managed 16 scholarship programs whose 2019 recipients represented 17 university campuses.

Aulick Memorial Scholarship (NMBF)

Marie Aulick established the Aulick Memorial Scholarship for students attending Eastern New Mexico University who also participate in the BCNM’s Christian Challenge ministry on the campus. Dr. Aulick was the third Bible teacher named as Bible Chair at ENMU. ENMU, Portales, student K. Johns received the scholarship.

Bennett/McAfee Scholarship (NMBF)

The Bennett/McAfee Memorial Scholarship was created after the deaths of Claud McAfee and Derek and Leslie Bennett. The scholarship aids New Mexico students attending Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary, Fort Worth, Texas, or attending ENMU and participating in the ENMU Christian Challenge. SWBTS student C. Craft received the scholarship.

Bernice F. Elliott Scholarship (BCNM)

The Bernice F. Elliott Scholarship honors a New Mexico native who served for many years as a youth worker on state’s WMU staff. The scholarship assists women who, like Elliott, have demonstrated their love for and commitment to missions. Two students received the scholarship: M. Connors, Central New Mexico University, Albuquerque, and H. James, New Mexico State University, Las Cruces.

Billie Holder Scholarship (NMBF)

The Billie and Louise Holder Memorial Scholarship honors Billie and Louise Holder. Billie Holder was the publisher of the Alamogordo Daily News from 1954-1983 and served as a deacon in his church for 39 years. He was also a past president of the BCNM. Two students received the scholarship: E. Duke, NMSU, Las Cruces, and T. White, SWBTS, Fort Worth, Texas.

Dwain Marrow Scholarship (NMBF)

The Dwain Marrow Memorial Scholarship honors the memory of the former BCNM education director. It assists students called to full-time ministry. M. Henslee, SWBTS, Fort Worth, Texas, received the scholarship.

Gladys Eickhoff Scholarship (BCNM)

The Gladys Eickhoff Memorial Scholarship assists New Mexico students who attend seminary. Students enrolled in Doctor of Ministry programs receive special consideration. Eight students received the scholarship: M. Englehart and G. Higgins, SWBTS, Fort Worth, Texas; K. Carroll, Grand Canyon University, Phoenix, Arizona; M. Dunn and J. Lewis, Gateway Seminary, Ontario, California; B. Faul, New Orleans Baptist Theological Seminary, New Orleans, Louisiana; J. Rivera, The Southern Baptist Theological Seminary, Louisville, Kentucky; and D. Taylor, Midwestern Baptist Theological Seminary, Kansas City, Missouri.

Jeri Sue Hollenbach Bauman Scholarship (NMBF)

Roy and Jean Hollenbach established the Jeri Sue Hollenbach Bauman Memorial Scholarship in memory of their daughter, Jeri Sue Hollenbach Bauman. Jeri Sue, an avid physical fitness person, graduated with honors from the dental hygiene program at UNM and worked at several Albuquerque dental offices. Seven students received the scholarship: B. Breeden and R. Breeden, Wayland Baptist University, Plainview, Texas; J. Varo Columbo, Liberty University, Lynchburg, Virginia; M. Connors, CNM, Albuquerque; B. Goodson, New Mexico Tech, Socorro; T. Nickell, NMSU, Las Cruces; and H. Treece, CNM, Albuquerque.

Jessie and Phyllis Allen Scholarship (NMBF)

The Allen Memorial Scholarship was created in memory of Jessie Allen and in recognition of Phyllis Allen. Jessie Allen served the Lesbia Baptist Church near Tucumcari for many years. Jessie and Phyllis both loved children and were interested in seeing young people improve themselves. Two students received the scholarship: E. Bishop, Cincinnati Christian University, Cincinnati, Ohio, and C. Hawkes, NMSU, Las Cruces.

Kathy Loudat Music Scholarship (NMBF)

The Kathy Loudat Music Scholarship honors the memory of Kathy Loudat, a longtime church musician. It assists a female who is pursuing a major in music. A. Muir, West Texas A&M University, Canyon, Texas, received the scholarship.

Ken Williams Scholarship (NMBF)

The Ken and Jerry Williams Scholarship is made possible by a trust fund at the NMBF established by Williams, a member of Sandia Baptist Church, Albuquerque, and a member of the foundation’s Board of Directors. Three students received the scholarship: C. Gould, SWBTS, Fort Worth, Texas; H. James, NMSU, Las Cruces; and M. Ricks, University of New Mexico, Albuquerque.

New Mexico Baptist Foundation Scholarship (NMBF)

Gifts from NMBF board members and other friends of the foundation fund the NMBF Scholarship. It provides tuition needs for deserving college students. Five students received the scholarship: C. Craft, SWBTS, Fort Worth, Texas; K. Farmer, ENMU, Portales; C. Messemer, SWBTS, Fort Worth, Texas; A. Muir, WTAMU, Canyon, Texas; and M. Robinette, UNM, Albuquerque.

O.D. Lambirth Scholarship (BCMN)

The O.D. Lambirth Memorial Scholarship honors the memory of Oliver D. Lambirth, Elida, who had a life-long concern for young people and the role of education in their lives. Three students received the scholarship: B. Fletcher, NMT, Socorro; and K. Johns and J. Moody, ENMU, Portales.

Perkins Memorial Scholarship (NMBF)

L.C. Perkins established The Helen Perkins Memorial Scholarship in 2007 to honor late wife, Helen Krause Perkins. It assists university students who are New Mexico residents, who have financial needs and who have a minimum grade point average of 2.5 or higher. B. Fletcher, NMT, Socorro, received the scholarship.

Sally McCord Fisher Scholarship (NMBF)

The Sally McCord Fisher Memorial Scholarship was created to honor the memory of Sally McCord Fisher, Roswell, continue her legacy of love for God and extend her genuine interest in young people. Two students received the scholarship: J. Moody, ENMU, Portales, and K. Stevens, UNM School of Medicine, Albuquerque.

Tori Tremaine Scholarship (NMBF)

Pastor and Mrs. Bob Tremaine of Weatherford, Texas, created the Tori Tremaine Scholarship in memory of their daughter, Tori, as a means of assisting mission-minded students enrolled at Hardin-Simmons University, Abilene, Texas. K. Tapia, Hardin-Simmons University, Abilene, Texas, received the scholarship.

WMU Scholarship (BCNM)

New Mexico WMU members across the state contribute to and offer the WMU Scholarship. Two students received the scholarship: C. Lamb, ENMU, Roswell, and H. Treece, CNM, Albuquerque.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.